All right, I just set up my own hub, and I'm trying to get my non-tech-savvy friends to sign up and start posting (so that there will be interesting content, so more friends join and post even more... to get that snowball effect).
The default audience choices are confusing and frustrating though.
At first I thought "Friends" meant the same as connections, but that appears to be incorrect. When I make a post to "Friends", nobody else can see it at all.
I guess "Friends" is a Privacy Group? Which you can only view and edit with the Privacy Groups app... which is not installed by default.
So I have two main questions:
- Would there ever be any reason to have the Privacy Groups app uninstalled? It seems like if it is not installed, a prominent feature of the main platform (the ability to post to "Friends") does not do anything useful, because "Friends" is always empty.
- How can I, as site admin, guarantee that everyone always has the Privacy Groups app installed? I do not want anyone to have to jump through a hoop in order to use basic parts of Hubzilla. (I have an intense desire to minimize the amount of setup almost all users will have to do... it should "just work".)